Academic Calendar

On this page you can find the list of important events and deadlines for the Doctoral School of Political Science, Public Policy and International Relations in the Academic Year 2016-17. You can also download the calendar in pdf. For the full Academic Calendar of Central European University click here.

2016

August 1, Monday                
Academic Year begins

August 20, Saturday             
Hungarian National Holiday, CEU is officially closed

September 3/4, Sat/Sun      
Students from departments and schools with short pre-sessions arrive (incl.: IR, POLS, SPP)

September 9, Friday            
Short pre-session ends
Welcome afternoon for all students

September 12, Monday       
Zero Week begins (until September 16, Friday
Registration for Fall Term begins (until October 2, Sunday)
11:00 PhD welcome orientation (Gellner room)
12:00 PhD welcome reception (foyer in front of the Gellner room)

September 12-23                  
Student Union elections in departments and schools

September 16, Friday           
15:00 Opening ceremony
18:30 Social Event for Political Science PhD students and faculty
Zero Week ends

September 19, Monday        
Fall Term begins (until December 9, Friday)

September 29, Thursday      
First Student Union Assembly meeting

September 30, Friday          
14:00 Deadline for submitting study plans

October 2, Sunday               
Registration for Fall Term ends

October 23, Sunday             
Hungarian National Holiday, CEU is officially closed

October 26, Wednesday      
PhD Travel, PhD Research Grant application deadline

October 31, Monday            
Special day off, CEU is officially closed

November 1, Tuesday          
All Saints’ Day, CEU is officially closed

November 4, Friday              
Provost open-house meeting with CEU doctoral students

December 5, Monday           
Registration for Winter Term begins (until January 15, Sunday)

December 9, Friday              
Fall Term ends

December 19-23                  
Offices with skeleton team, Library and Labs on weekend schedule

December 24, Saturday       
Christmas Eve, CEU is officially closed

December 25, Sunday          
Christmas Day, CEU is officially closed

December 26, Monday         
Christmas Day, CEU is officially closed

December 27-30                    
Offices with skeleton team, Library and Labs on weekend schedule

December 31, Saturday        
New Year’s Eve, CEU is officially closed

2017

January 1, Sunday                
New Year’s Day, CEU is officially closed

January 9, Monday               
Winter Term begins (until March 31, Friday)

January 15, Sunday              
Registration for Winter Term ends

February 10, Friday              
PhD Research and Travel Grants application deadline

February 14/15, Tue/Wed   
Career Days & Career Fair at CEU

February 17, Friday              
Provost open-house meeting with CEU doctoral students

February 17, Friday            
Deadline for choosing a permanent supervisor and submitting the title/topic of the prospectus to the DS

March 15, Wednesday         
Hungarian National Holiday, CEU is officially closed

March 20, Monday               
Registration for Spring Term begins (until April 9, Sunday)

March 31, Friday                   
Winter Term ends

April 3-4 Mon-TUe                            
Annual Doctoral Conference

April 3, Monday                    
Spring Term begins (until June 16, Friday)

April 9, Sunday                     
Registration for Spring Term ends

April 16, Sunday                   
Easter Sunday, CEU is officially closed

April 17, Monday                  
Easter Monday, CEU is officially closed

May 1, Monday                    
Labor day, CEU is officially closed

May 2, Tuesday                  
Submission of 1st draft of Annotated Bibliography

May 5, Friday                        
PhD Research and Travel Grants application deadline

May 26, Friday                      
Prospectus submissions

June 2, Friday                      
Submission of final Annotated Bibliography for the Comprehensive Exam

June 4, Sunday                      
Pentecost Sunday, CEU is officially closed

June 5, Monday                    
Pentecost Monday, CEU is officially closed

June 16, Friday                      
Spring Term ends

June 19-22, Mon-Thu          
Comprehensive Exams 

June 23, Friday                      
COMMENCEMENT

July 31, Monday                    
Academic Year ends